Work to Learn, Not earn.

As I sit at my desk and read the words of Thoreau, I notice something about myself.  Thoreau writes about men working their entire lives in order to surmount their debts.  They break their backs to earn enough to make payments on things they cannot afford but think they need.  

The thing I noticed of myself was this: I work to learn, not earn.  I had an epiphany when I discovered this.  Yes, it is necessary to earn enough to pay for the raw necessities in life, but everything beyond that I choose not to indulge in.  My direct deposit paycheck goes untouched.  I do not go to work for the paycheck, I do it for experience.  I try to put myself into scary situations because those are the ones that we learn the most from.  I force myself to do things I’ve never done before and I’m always looking for a challenge.

 I try my best to live a life dedicated to self-improvement and I do my job based on that.  I work in the field of sales so every single day I build relationships with strangers and help them solve their problems and make their dreams come true.  It is a feeling of immense joy knowing that you can change someone’s life in the matter of a few hours.  All of the while I’m growing into a better person and cultivating lasting skills.  It is the enduring abilities that will last me a lifetime, not the paycheck.  So I challenge you today to try something that you’ve never done or have always been afraid to do in order to better yourself.  To run head on into the face of fear, you just might be glad you did.  

 

“That man is the richest whose pleasures are the cheapest.”  – Henry David Thoreau

 

Leave a Reply

